Linda McCartney


Linda McCartney : biography

24 September 1941 – 17 April 1998

In 1977, a reggae-inspired single entitled "Seaside Woman" was released by an obscure band called Suzy and the Red Stripes, on Epic Records in the United States. In reality, Suzy and The Red Stripes were Wings, with Linda McCartney (who also wrote the song), on lead vocals. The song was recorded by Wings in 1972, in response to a lawsuit by Northern Songs and Maclen Music alleging McCartney violated an exclusive rights agreement by collaborating on the song "Another Day", which had the effect of transferring a 50% share of the publishing royalties to his own McCartney Music company. The lawsuit, which alleged that Linda McCartney’s co-writing credits were inauthentic and that she was not a real songwriter, was "amicably settled," according to an ATV spokesman, in June 1972.Brian Southall and Rupert Perry, Northen Songs: The True Story of The Beatles’ Song Publishing Empire (2007).

The McCartneys shared an Oscar nomination for the co-composition of the song, "Live and Let Die". Her album Wide Prairie, which included "Seaside Woman," was released posthumously in 1998. McCartney worked with the help of The Beatles’ engineer, Geoff Emerick, to finish the album. Along with eight other British composers, he contributed to the choral album A Garland for Linda, and dedicated his classical album, Ecce Cor Meum, to his late wife. In January 1999, "The Light Comes From Within" single from the Wide Prairie album was banned by TV and radio stations in the UK. McCartney placed advertisements in English national newspapers asking parents to give "guidance" as to whether their children could be "morally corrupted" by the song lyrics, which included the lines, "You say I’m simple, you say I’m a hick, You’re fucking no-one, you stupid dick."



  • Wide Prairie (1998)

Solo Singles

Year Song UK U.S. Hot 100 Album
1998 Wide Prairie 74 Wide Prairie
1999 The Light Comes from Within 56

Paul and Linda McCartney

  • Ram (1971)


Session work

  • Paul McCartney – McCartney (1970)
  • Denny Laine – Holly Days (1977)
  • Denny Laine – Japanese Tears (1980)
  • Paul McCartney – McCartney II
  • Paul McCartney – Tug of War (1982)
  • Paul McCartney – Pipes of Peace (1983)
  • Paul McCartney – Give My Regards to Broad Street (1984)
  • Paul McCartney – Press to Play (1986)
  • Paul McCartney – Flowers in the Dirt (1989)
  • Paul McCartney – Off The Ground (1993)
  • Paul McCartney – Flaming Pie (1997)