Alan Price

Alan Price bigraphy, stories - English rock musician

Alan Price : biography

19 April 1942 –

Alan Price (born 19 April 1942, Fatfield, Washington, County Durham) is an English musician, best known as the original keyboardist for the British band the Animals and for his subsequent solo work.

Price is a self-taught musician and was educated at Jarrow Grammar School, South Tyneside and was a founding member of the Tyneside group the Alan Price Rhythm and Blues Combo, which was later renamed the Animals. His organ-playing on songs by the Animals, such as "House of the Rising Sun", "Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood" and "Bring It On Home To Me" was a key element in the success of the group.

After leaving the Animals, Price went on to have success on his own with his own band Alan Price Set and later with Georgie Fame. He introduced the songs of Randy Newman to a wider audience. Later, he appeared on his own television show, as well as achieving success with film scores including winning critical acclaim for his musical contribution to the 1973 film O Lucky Man!, and wrote the score to the stage musical Andy Capp. In addition, he has appeared as an actor in films and television productions.

Film, stage and TV

Price has been closely involved with the work of film director Lindsay Anderson. In 1973 he wrote the music for Anderson’s film O Lucky Man!, which he performs on screen in the film and appears as himself in one part of the storyline. In 1987, he wrote the score to Anderson’s final film, The Whales of August.

He acted in Alfie Darling, a sequel to the film Alfie, during the course of which he became romantically involved with his co-star, Jill Townsend. He also composed and sang the theme tune to the 1982 film adaptation of The Plague Dogs, "Time and Tide".

In 1981 he composed the score for the musical Andy Capp, based on the eponymous comic strip. Price also wrote the lyrics, together with the actor Trevor Peacock. The play transferred from the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester to London’s Aldwych Theatre in September 1982. Price later provided the theme to Thames Television’s 1988 sitcom adaptation of Andy Capp in the form of a rewritten "Jarrow Song". Other TV theme work includes a re-recorded version of his 1974 single "Papers", which was used as the theme tune to the successful LWT situation comedy Hot Metal.

In 1992 Anderson included a touching episode in his autobiographical BBC film Is That All There Is?, with a boat trip down the River Thames to scatter Rachel Roberts & Jill Bennett’s ashes on the waters while Price accompanied himself and sang the song "Is That All There Is?".

Film appearances

  • Britannia Hospital, Soundtrack
  • Alfie Darling (1975), Alfie Elkins, Soundtrack
  • O Lucky Man! (1973), Alan, Soundtrack
  • Dont Look Back (1967), Himself

TV appearances

  • Ready, Steady, Go! — as the Alan Price Set (9 December 1966)
  • Beat Club — 1967-68
  • Disco (TV series) — Episode No. 1.5 as Price and Fame (1971)
  • Heartbeat (UK TV series) — Frankie Rio (a "shifty" musician) "In the Bleak Midwinter" (2004)
  • The Two Ronnies — as himself (1972) eight episodes
  • Saturday Night Live — as himself (April 1977)



  • 1974 Golden Globe nomination for O Lucky Man!
  • 1974 BAFTA (Anthony Asquith Award for Film Music) O Lucky Man



  • Any Day Now / Never Be Sick On Sunday (1965, Alan Price Set)
  • I Put a Spell on You/ Iechyd-Da (1966, Alan Price Set) (#9 UK/#80 US)
  • Hi-Lili, Hi-Lo/ Take Me Home (1966, Alan Price Set) (#11 UK)
  • Willow Weep For Me / Yours Until Tomorrow (1966, Alan Price Set)
  • Simon Smith and the Amazing Dancing Bear/ Tickle Me (1967, Alan Price Set) (#4 UK)
  • The House That Jack Built / Who Cares (1967, Alan Price Set) (#4 UK)
  • Shame / Don’t Do That Again (1967, Alan Price Set) (#45 UK)
  • Don’t Stop The Carnival / The Time Has Come (1968, Alan Price Set) (#13 UK)
  • When I Was a Cowboy / Tappy Tortise (1968)
  • Love Story / My Old Kentucky Home (1968)
  • The Trimdon Grange Explosion / Falling In Love Again (1969)
  • Falling in Love Again / Sly Sadie (1969, Cotillion (US release))
  • Sunshine and Rain (The Name of the Game) / Is There Anybody Out There? (1970)
  • Rosetta / John And Mary (1971, Alan Price and Georgie Fame) (#11 UK)
  • Follow Me / Sergeant Jobsworth (1971, Alan Price and Georgie Fame)
  • Don’t Hit Me When I’m Down / Street Lights (1973, Alan Price and Georgie Fame)
  • O Lucky Man! / Pastoral (1973)
  • O Lucky Man! / Poor People (1973)
  • Poor People / Arrival (1973)
  • Jarrow Song / Look At My Face (1974) (#6 UK)
  • In Times Like These / Sell Sell (1974)
  • Mama Divine / It’s Not Easy (1975)
  • Papers / Mama Divine (1975)
  • Papers / A Little Inch (1975)
  • Goodnight Irene / Spanish Harlem (1976)
  • Kissed Away the Night / Ladybird / Hungry for Love (1976, Polydor)
  • Rainbow’s End / I Love You Too (1977, Jet Records)
  • I Wanna Dance / Life Is Good (Alan Price and Rob Hoeke) (1977, Jet)
  • I’ve Been Hurt / The Thrill (1977, Jet)
  • This Is Your Lucky Day / Mama Don’t Go Home (1977, Jet)
  • Meet The People / It Will Please Me (1977, Jet)
  • I Almost Lost My Mind (1977, Alan Price and Rob Hoeke, Polydor)
  • Just For You / I Wanna Dance (1978)
  • Just For You / I’m A Gambler (1978) (#43 UK)
  • England My England / Citizens of the World Unite (1978)
  • I Love You Too/ (1978)
  • Baby Of Mine / Just For You (1979, red heart-shaped vinyl) (#32 UK)
  • The House Of The Rising Sun / Wake Up! (1980, Jet)
  • Love You True / Mr. Sunbeam (1980, Jet)
  • When My Little Girl Is Smiling / The Great Pretender (1980, Key Records)
  • Beat Out Dat Rhythm On A Drum / Geordie Melody (1980, Key Records)
  • Love is a Miracle / Dear Piano (1981, Key Records)
  • Down At World’s End / Rubik Blues (1981, B-side by the Alan Price Band, BBC Records)
  • I Don’t Feel No Pain No More / Rowf and Snitter Run To the Sea – 1982, CBS)
  • Clair De Lune / In Times Like These (1984, Safari Records)
  • Jarrow Song ’86 / Between Today And Yesterday ’86 (1986)
  • Guess Who / Slow Down (1986, Trojan Records)
  • Papers / Frozen Moments (1986, Trojan)
  • Changes / Vegetable (Come and Get It) / The Jarrow Song (remix) (1988, Ariola) (3-tracked 12-inch single, also on CD)
  • Liberty / Say it isn’t True (1989, Ariola Records)
  • Fool’s In Love / Man Overboard (1989, Ariola)
  • Changes (1989, Ariola) (#56 UK)
  • Love Is A Miracle (2001, Key Records)