Vaikom Muhammad Basheer bigraphy, stories - Activists

Vaikom Muhammad Basheer : biography

21 January 1908 - 5 July 1994

Vaikom Muhammad Basheer (21 January 1908 – 5 July 1994). New York University. Retrieved June 4, 2013. was a Malayalam fiction writer from the state of Kerala in India. He was a humanist, freedom fighter, novelist and short story writer. He is noted for his path-breaking, disarmingly down-to-earth style of writing that made him equally popular among literary critics as well as the common man. He is regarded as one of the most successful and outstanding writers from India.. Retrieved June 4, 2013. Translations of his works into other languages have won him worldwide acclaim. His notable works include Balyakalasakhi, Shabdangal, Pathummayude Aadu, Mathilukal, Ntuppuppakkoranendarnnu, Janmadinam and Anargha Nimisham. He was awarded the Padma Shri in 1982. He is fondly remembered as the Beypore Sultan.

Published works


# Title Translation in English Year of Publishing
1 Premalekhanam The Love Letter 1943
2 Balyakalasakhi Childhood Companion 1944
3 Shabdangal The Voices 1947
4 Ntuppuppakkoranendarnnu My Grandad Had an Elephant 1951
5 Maranathinte Nizhalil In the Shadow of Death 1951
6 Mucheettukalikkarante Makal The Card Sharper's Daughter 1951
7 Sthalathe Pradhana Divyan The Principal Divine of the Place 1953
8 Anavariyum Ponkurishum Elephant Scooper and Golden Cross 1953
9 Jeevithanizhalppadukal The Shadows of Life 1954
10 Pathummayude Aadu Paththumma's Goat 1959
11 Mathilukal Walls 1965
12 Thara Specials 1968
13 Manthrikappoocha The Magic Cat 1968
14 Prempatta The Loving Cockroach (Published posthumously) 2006

Short stories

# Title Translation in English Year of Publishing
1 Janmadinam The Birthday 1945
2 Ormakkurippu Jottings from Memory 1946
3 Anargha Nimisham Invaluable Moment (See "Anal Haq") 1946
4 Viddikalude Swargam Fools' Paradise 1948
5 Pavappettavarude Veshya The Prostitute of the Poor 1952
6 Vishwavikhyathamaya Mookku The World-renowned Nose 1954
7 Visappu The Hunger 1954
8 Oru Bhagavad Gitayum Kure Mulakalum A Bhagavadgeetha and Some Breasts 1967
9 Anappooda Elephant-hair 1975
10 Chirikkunna Marappava The Laughing Wooden Doll 1975
11 Bhoomiyude Avakashikal The Inheritors of the Earth 1977
12 Shinkidimunkan The Fools' God Man 1991
13 Sarpayajnam The Snake Ritual
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine