Nanami Shiono bigraphy, stories - Japanese writer

Nanami Shiono : biography

7 July 1937 -

Nanami Shiono ( Shiono Nanami, b. 7 July 1937), is a Japanese author and novelist known for her works on the history of Italy, especially those dealing with ancient Rome and the Renaissance period.

Shiono Nanami's Works

Works on the Renaissance

  • Runesansu no Onna-tachi (Women of the Renaissance) (1968)
  • Chēzare Borujia Aruiwa Yūganaru Reikoku (Cesare Borgia the Elegant Tyrant) (1970)
  • Umi no Miyako no Monogatari (Story of the City of the Sea) (1980)
  • Kami no Dairinin (Deputies of God) (1972)
  • Waga Tomo Makiavetri (My Friend Machiavelli) (1987)

Res Gestae Populi Romani

  • Roma-jin no Monogatari (Res Gestae Populi Romani: Stories of the Romans) (1992–2006)
    • Roma wa Ichinichi ni shite Narazu (Roma Non Uno Die Aedificata Est: Rome was not Built in A Day) (1992)
    • Hannibaru Senki (Bellum Hannibalicum: The Hannibal War) (1993)
    • Shōsha no Konmei (Bellorum Civilium: The Turmoil of the Victor) (1994)
    • Yuriusu Kaesaru, Rubikon Izen (Julius Caesar, Before Crossing the Rubicon) (1995)
    • Yuriusu Kaesaru, Rubikon Igo (Julius Caesar, After Crossing the Rubicon) (1996)
    • Pakkusu Rōmana (Pax Romana) (1997)
    • Akumei Takaki Kōtei-tachi (Imperatores Malæ Famæ: The Infamous Emperors) (1998)
    • Kiki to Kokufuku (Crisis Et Ab Ea Exitus: Crisis and Vanquishment) (1999)
    • Kentei no Seiki (Sæculum Aureum: The Century of Good Emperors) (2000)
    • Subete no Michi wa Rōma ni Tsūzu (Omniæ Viæ Quæ Ad Romam Duxerunt: All Roads Lead to Rome) (2001)
    • Owari no Hajimari (Finis Principium: Start of the Catastrophe) (2002)
    • Meisō Suru Teikoku (Tertii Sæculi Crisis: The Empire in Chaos) (2003)
    • Saigo no Doryoku (De Ultimis Laboribus: The Last Endeavour) (2004)
    • Kirisuto no Shōri (De Christi Victoria: The Victory of Christ) (2005)
    • Rōma Sekai no Shūen (Romani Mundi Finis: The End of the Roman World) (2006)

Novels (fiction)

The East Mediterranean Trilogy

  • Konstantinōpuru no Kanraku (The Fall of Constantinople) (1983)
    • The Fall of Constantinople translated into English by Kerim Yasar - Vertical Inc. 2005
  • Rōdosu-to no Kōbō-ki (The Record of the Battle of Rhodes) (1985)
    • The Siege of Rhodes translated into English by Carolyn L. Temporelli, Wilburn Hansen, & Steven Wills - Vertical Inc. 2006
  • Repanto no Kaisen (The Battle of Lepanto) (1987)
    • The Battle of Lepanto translated into English by Carolyn L. Temporelli, Steven M. Bryan, & Wilburn Hansen - Vertical Inc. 2007

The Stories from Three Cities

  • Hiiro no Venezia (Venice in Crimson) (1987)
  • Giniro no Firenze (Florence in Silver) (1989)
  • Oōgon no Roma (Rome in Gold) (1990)


  • Silent Minority (1993)
  • Otoko-tachi E (To Men) (1989)
  • Futatabi Otoko-tachi E (To Men Again) (1994)
  • Itaria Kara no Tegami (Letters from Italy) (1972)
  • Itaria Imon (Literary Remains from Italy) (1979)
  • Otona Futari no Gogo (Afternoon Conversation between Two Adults), co-authored with Hiroyuki Itsuki (1998)


Shiono was born in Tokyo, on 7 July 1937. In high school she read Homer's Iliad and was fascinated by it. She graduated from Gakushuin University with a degree in philosophy. During her school years, she was deeply involved with student activism, but eventually became disillusioned with the movement She wanted to attend Waseda University but was denied by her father.

From 1963 to 1968 she lived in Italy, studying the language and history of the country on her own. During this time she also travelled extensively in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Upon returning to Japan in 1968, she began to write and published her first book, Runesansu no Onna-tachi (Women of the Renaissance), in the literary magazine Chūo Kōron.

Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine