Karin Slaughter

Karin Slaughter bigraphy, stories - American writer

Karin Slaughter : biography

January 6, 1971 –

Karin Slaughter (born January 6, 1971) is an American crime writer, whose first novel Blindsighted (2001) became an international success, was published in almost 30 languages, and made the Crime Writers’ Association’s Dagger Award shortlist for "Best Thriller Debut" of 2001. She has sold more than 30 million copies of her books, and is published in 32 languages.

Fractured, the second novel in the Will Trent series, debuted at number one in the UK and the Netherlands, and was the number one adult fiction title in Australia. At the same time, Faithless (Gottlos) published in Germany at number one.

Slaughter was born in a small southern Georgia community. Now residing in Atlanta, she is widely credited with coining the term "investigoogling" in 2006.

Slaughter is currently part of a "Save the Libraries" event that benefits the DeKalb County Public Library.

Grant County series

Slaughter is best known for her Grant County series:

  • Blindsighted, 2001
  • Kisscut, 2002
  • A Faint Cold Fear, 2003
  • Indelible, 2004
  • Faithless, 2005
  • Beyond Reach/Skin Privilege, 2007

Set in the fictional town of Heartsdale, Georgia, (in the fictional Grant County) the narrative takes place from the perspective of three main characters: Sara Linton, the town’s pediatrician and part-time coroner; her ex-husband to whom she is remarried, Jeffrey Tolliver, who is chief of police; and his subordinate, detective Lena Adams, Slaughter’s most controversial character. The most recent Grant County novel was published in July 2007. The title was Beyond Reach in the US and Skin Privilege elsewhere.

Will Trent/Atlanta series

The Will Trent series, which takes place in Atlanta, features special Agent Will Trent with the GBI and his partner Faith Mitchell. So far, Will has appeared in Triptych, Fractured, Undone, Broken and Fallen and Criminal was released July 2012. Undone (called Genesis in the UK and elsewhere) brings together characters from the Grant County series with the Will Trent series. In May 2012 a novella "Snatched" featuring Faith Mitchell and Will Trent was released as an e-book. It contains the first chapter of the upcoming book "Criminal" which should be released July 2012.

Publishing history

In 2009, Slaughter brought together characters from her two main series Grant County and Will Trent/Atlanta in her novel Undone, called Genesis internationally. Will Trent and other characters from that series work a case set in Atlanta with Sara Linton, of Grant County. Also intertwining the characters Will Trent and Sara Linton from her two series is her book "Broken," published in 2010. It is set in the fictitious Grant County.

Other works

Like a Charm is an anthology, composed of short stories written by several thriller authors. Each story features a charm bracelet that brings bad luck to its owner. The time and place where the stories take place vary greatly, ranging from 19th-century Georgia to wartime Leeds. Karin Slaughter wrote the first and the last stories.

Contributing authors, among others, are:

  • Lee Child
  • John Connolly
  • Mark Billingham
  • Lynda La Plante
  • Denise Mina
  • Peter Robinson

Triptych (2006) is a novel with three interconnected narrators, set against the urban backdrop of Atlanta. Fractured (2008) continues the series with the character Will Trent from Triptych with a murder in Ansley Park.

Martin Misunderstood is an original audio novella narrated by Wayne Knight and is available from BBC Audiobooks America. Both the story and the narration were nominated for an Audie Award in 2009. The book was translated into Dutch and given away to over one million readers.