Kage Baker bigraphy, stories - Science - Other

Kage Baker : biography

June 10, 1952 - January 31, 2010

Kage Baker (June 10, 1952 – January 31, 2010"," SF Site, 1/31/2010) was an American science fiction and fantasy writer.


Baker was born in Hollywood, California and lived there and in Pismo Beach most of her life. Before becoming a professional writer she spent many years in theater, including teaching Elizabethan English as a second language. Her unusual first name (pronounced like the word "cage") is a combination of the names of her two grandmothers, Kate and Genevieve.

She is best known for her "Company" series of historical time travel science fiction. Her first stories were published in Asimov's Science Fiction in 1997, and her first novel, In the Garden of Iden, by Hodder & Stoughton in the same year. Other notable works include Mendoza in Hollywood (novel, 2000) and "The Empress of Mars" (novella, 2003), which won the Theodore Sturgeon Award and was nominated for a Hugo Award.

In 2008, she donated her archive to the department of Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University., Northern Illinois University

In 2009, her short story "Caverns of Mystery" and her novel House of the Stag were both nominated for World Fantasy Awards, but neither piece won.

In January 2010, it was reported that Baker was seriously ill with cancer. She died from uterine cancer at approximately 1:00 a.m. on January 31, 2010 in Pismo Beach, California.

In 2010, Baker's The Women of Nell Gwynne's was nominated for a Hugo Award and a World Fantasy Award in the Best Novella categories.http://www.locusmag.com/News/2010/08/2009-world-fantasy-awards-nominees/ On May 15, 2010, that work was awarded the 2009 Nebula Award in the Best Novella category.

Baker left an unfinished novel, Nell Gwynne’s On Land and At Sea, which has been completed by her sister Kathleen Bartholomew based on extensive notes left by Baker, and was published in 2012.

Partial bibliography

Novels set in the Company universe

  • In the Garden of Iden (1997)
  • Sky Coyote (1999)
  • Mendoza in Hollywood (2000) (published in the UK as At the Edge of the West)
  • The Graveyard Game (2001)
  • The Life of the World to Come (2004)
  • The Children of the Company (2005)
  • The Machine's Child (2006)
  • The Sons of Heaven (2007)
  • The Empress of Mars (2009) (novel version)
  • Not Less than Gods (2010)
  • Nell Gwynne’s On Land and At Sea (2012)

Short story collections set in the Company universe

  • Black Projects, White Knights: The Company Dossiers (2002)
  • Gods and Pawns (2007)

Standalone novellas set in the Company universe

  • The Empress of Mars (2003) (novella version)
  • The Angel in the Darkness (limited edition chapbook, 2003)
  • Rude Mechanicals (2007)
  • The Women of Nell Gwynne's (limited edition, 2009)

Other works

Novels and novellas

  • The Anvil of the World (2003)
  • The House of the Stag (2008) (prequel to Anvil of the World)
  • Where the Golden Apples Grow (2006) (novella)
  • Or Else My Lady Keeps the Key (2008)
  • The Hotel Under the Sand (2009) (juvenile)
  • The Bird of the River (July 2010) (same universe as Anvil of the World and House of the Stag)

Short story collections

  • Mother Ægypt and Other Stories (2004) (title story takes place in the Company universe)
  • Dark Mondays (2006)
  • The Best of Kage Baker (2012) (includes stories set in and out of the Company universe)
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine