Jason (comics) bigraphy, stories - Comic creator

Jason (comics) : biography

16 May 1965 -

John Arne Sæterøy (born 16 May 1965 in Molde), better known by the pen name Jason, is a Norwegian cartoonist, known for his sparse drawing style and silent, anthropomorphic animal characters.

He has been nominated for two Ignatz Awards (2000: Outstanding Story and Outstanding Series, 2001: Outstanding Story and Outstanding Series), has received praise in Time, and won the Harvey Award for best new talent in 2002, and several Eisner Awards.

Bibliography of English publications

Title Year ISBN Notes
Hey, Wait... 2001 ISBN 1-56097-463-X
Sshhhh! 2002 ISBN 1-56097-497-4
The Iron Wagon 2003 ISBN 1-56097-541-5
Tell Me Something 2004 ISBN 1-56097-566-0
You Can't Get There From Here 2004 ISBN 1-56097-598-9
Why Are You Doing This? 2005 ISBN 1-56097-655-1
Meow, Baby! 2006 ISBN 1-56097-695-0
The Left Bank Gang 2006 ISBN 1-56097-742-6
The Living and the Dead 2007 ISBN 1-56097-794-9
I Killed Adolf Hitler 2007 ISBN 1-56097-828-7
The Last Musketeer 2008 ISBN 978-1-56097-889-3
Pocket Full of Rain 2008 ISBN 978-1-56097-934-0
Low Moon 2009 ISBN 978-1-60699-155-8
Almost Silent 2010 ISBN 978-1-60699-315-6 Reprints: Tell Me Something; You Can't Get There From Here; Meow, Baby!; and The Living and the Dead
Werewolves of Montpellier 2010 ISBN 978-1-60699-359-0
What I Did 2010 ISBN 978-1-60699-414-6 Reprints: Hey, Wait...; Sshhhh!; and The Iron Wagon
Isle of 100,000 Graves 2011 ISBN 978-1-60699-442-9 Contributor: Fabien Vehlmann
Athos in America 2012 ISBN 978-1-60699-478-8


  • readyourselfraw.com
  • on Fantagraphics
  • Bedetheque


Jason's work is usually drawn in a minimalist, clean style, influenced by Hergé's ligne claire. His protagonists are usually anthropomorphic animals and/or B-movie monsters. There is little or no talking, and very rarely any captions.

Jason's comics frequently refer to other works. For example, Tell Me Something is inspired by Buster Keaton's movies, Frankenstein's Monster and related characters appear in You Can't Get There From Here, and fictionalized versions of Ernest Hemingway and other writers are the protagonists of The Left Bank Gang.


Jason debuted in 1981 in the Norwegian comics magazine KonK, contributing several short stories during its lifespan. In 1989, he was admitted to Norway's National Academy of the Arts, where he studied graphical design and illustration. He won the Norwegian Comics Association award in 1991 for the short work pervo.

In 1995, Jason published his first graphic novel, Lomma full av regn (Pocket Full of Rain), for which he won the Sproing Award. In 1997, he started making Mjau Mjau, a semi-regular comic book featuring nothing but his own works. In 2001, he was once again awarded a Sproing, this time for Mjau Mjau 10. Since 2002, Jason has concentrated on making graphic novels.

Jason has lived in Denmark, Belgium, The U.S., and France. Since 2007, Jason has been living in Montpellier, and his recent graphic novels have been initially published in French.

As Jason's exposure has increased, his comics have been published outside of Norway, in Sweden, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, and The U.S. His American publisher is Fantagraphics.


  • 1995: Sproing Award, for Lomma full av regn
  • 2000: Sproing Award, for Mjau Mjau 10: Si meg en ting
  • 2000: Urhunden Prize for best translated graphic novel, for Vänta lite...
  • 2002: Inkpot Award
  • 2002: Harvey Award, Best New Talent, for Hey, Wait...
  • 2007: Eisner Award, Best U.S. Edition of International Material, for The Left Bank Gang
  • 2008: Eisner Award, Best U.S. Edition of International Material, for I Killed Adolf Hitler
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine