Gilbert Strang bigraphy, stories - Mathematician

Gilbert Strang : biography

27 November 1934 -

William Gilbert Strang (born November 27, 1934 in Chicago), usually known as simply Gilbert Strang or Gil Strang, is an American mathematician, with contributions to finite element theory, the calculus of variations, wavelet analysis and linear algebra. He has made many contributions to mathematics education, including publishing seven mathematics textbooks and one monograph. Strang is the MathWorks Professor of Mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He teaches Introduction to Linear Algebra and Computational Science and Engineering and his lectures are freely available through MIT OpenCourseWare.


  • S.B., 1955, MIT
  • B. A., M. A., 1957, Rhodes Scholar, Balliol College, Oxford
  • Ph. D., National Science Foundation Fellow, 1959, University of California, Los Angeles. Dissertation: "Difference Methods for Mixed Boundary Value Problems"


Books and monographs

  1. Essays in Linear Algebra (2012)
  2. Algorithms for Global Positioning, with Kai Borre (2012)
  3. Computational Science and Engineering (2007)
  4. Linear Algebra, Geodesy, and GPS, with Kai Borre (1997)
  5. Wavelets and Filter Banks, with Truong Nguyen (1996)
  6. Introduction to Linear Algebra (1993, 1998, 2003, 2009)
  7. Calculus (1991, 2010)
  8. Linear Algebra and Its Applications (1976, 1980, 1988, 2005)
  9. An Analysis of the Finite Element Method, with George Fix (1973, 2008)

University positions

  • Professor of Mathematics, MIT (1962–)
  • Honorary Fellow, Balliol College, Oxford


  • President, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (1999, 2000)
  • Chair, U.S. National Committee on Mathematics (2003–2004)
  • Chair, National Science Foundation (NSF) Advisory Panel on Mathematics
  • Board Member, International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM)
  • Abel Prize Committee (2003–2005)

Awards and honors

  1. Rhodes Scholar (1955)
  2. Alfred P. Sloan Fellow (1966–1967)
  3. Chauvenet Prize, Mathematical Association of America (1976)
  4. Honorary Professor, Xian Jiaotong University, China (1980)
  5. American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1985)
  6. Honorary Fellow, Balliol College, Oxford University (1999)
  7. Honorary Member, Irish Mathematical Society (2002)
  8. Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (2003)
  9. Von Neumann Medal, US Association for Computational Mechanics (2005)
  10. Haimo Prize, Mathematical Association of America (2006)
  11. Su Buchin Prize, International Congress (ICIAM, 2007)
  12. Henrici Prize (2007)
  13. National Academy of Sciences (2009)
  14. Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Toulouse (2010)
  15. Doctor Honoris Causa, Aalborg University (2013)
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine