Dean Ing bigraphy, stories - American science fiction writer

Dean Ing : biography

1931 -

Dean Ing (born 1931) is an American author, who usually writes in the science fiction and techno-thriller genres.

Dean Charles Ing was formerly a member of the United States Air Force, an aerospace engineer, and a university professor who holds a doctorate in communications theory. He has been a professional writer since 1977. Following the death of science fiction author Mack Reynolds in 1983, Ing was asked to finish several of Reynolds' uncompleted manuscripts.

Ing and his wife reside in Oregon.

Much of Ing's fiction includes detailed, practical descriptions of techniques and methods which would be useful in an individual or group survival situation, including instructions for the manufacture of tools and other implements, the recovery of stuck vehicles and avoidance of disease and injury.

In addition to his fiction writing, Ing wrote nonfiction articles for the survivalist newsletter P.S. Letter, edited by Mel Tappan. Following in the footsteps of sci-fi novelist Pat Frank, Ing included a lengthy nonfiction appendix to his nuclear war survival novel Pulling Through. (Pat Frank authored both the nuclear war survival novel Alas, Babylon and the non-fiction book How To Survive the H Bomb And Why.)

Robert A. Heinlein dedicated his 1985 novel The Cat Who Walks Through Walls to Ing and eight of the other members of the Citizens' Advisory Council on National Space Policy.

Books written by Dean Ing


  1. Systemic Shock (1981)
  2. Single Combat (1983)
  3. Wild Country (1985)

L-5 Community

  • The Lagrangists (1983) with Mack Reynolds
  • Chaos in Lagrangia (1984) with Mack Reynolds
  • Trojan Orbit (1985) with Mack Reynolds

Aerospace Systems

  • The Ransom of Black Stealth One (1989)
  • The Nemesis Mission (1991)
  • Butcher Bird (1993)

Larry Niven's Known Space

  • Cathouse (1990)
  • The Houses of the Kzinti (2002) with Jerry Pournelle and S. M. Stirling


  • Soft Targets (1979)
  • Anasazi (1980)
  • Pulling Through (1983)
  • The Other Time (1984) with Mack Reynolds
  • Home Sweet Home: 2010 A. D. (1984) with Mack Reynolds
  • Eternity (1984) with Mack Reynolds
  • Mutual Assured Survival (1984) with Jerry Pournelle - non-fiction
  • The Future of Flight (1985) with Leik Myrabo - non-fiction
  • Deathwish World (1986) with Mack Reynolds
  • Blood of Eagles (1986)
  • Firefight 2000 (1987) - see also Firefight Y2K, below
  • The Big Lifters (1988)
  • Chernobyl Syndrome (1988)
  • Silent Thunder (1991)
  • Spooker (1995)
  • Flying To Pieces (1998)
  • Skins of Dead Men (1998)
  • Firefight Y2K (2000) - updated version of Firefight 2000, with new intros to each story/article and some new/added content
  • Loose Cannon (2000)
  • The Rackham Files (2004)
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine