Darrell K. Sweet bigraphy, stories - Illustrator

Darrell K. Sweet : biography

August 15, 1934 - December 5, 2011

Darrell K. Sweet (August 15, 1934 – December 5, 2011) was a professional illustrator best known for providing cover art for science fiction and fantasy novels, in which capacity he was nominated for Hugo award in 1983.

Sweet was born in Highland Park, New Jersey. He graduated from Syracuse University in 1956 with a degree in fine arts. He also produced art for trading cards and calendars. He was famous for providing the covers of the fantasy epic saga The Wheel of Time. He was also the illustrator for the well-known Xanth series by Piers Anthony, the Saga of Recluce series by L. E. Modesitt, Jr. and the Runelords series by David Farland as well as the original cover artist for Stephen R. Donaldson's series The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever.

Between 1975 and 2005, Sweet produced over 3000 images., via archive.org He died in 2011.

Professional recognition

Sweet was a guest of honor at Tuckercon in 2007 and at the 2010 World Fantasy Convention in 2010. In 2011, he was selected as a guest of honor for LoneStarCon 3; after his death, LoneStarCon chose to "continue to feature him in memoriam as one of our honored Guests.", by the LoneStarCon III Organizing Committee; retrieved June 19, 2013

Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine