Ben Aaronovitch

Ben Aaronovitch bigraphy, stories - British television writer

Ben Aaronovitch : biography

1964 –

Ben Denis Aaronovitch (born 1964) is the London-born British author of the best selling Rivers of London series of novels.


Doctor Who

  • Remembrance of the Daleks (1988)
  • Battlefield (1989)


  • "Results" (1990)

Jupiter Moon

  • Episode 69 (1990)
  • Episode 70 (1990)
  • Episode 80 (1990)
  • Episode 81 (1990)
  • Episode 95 (1990)
  • Episode 119 (1996)
  • Episode 120 (1996)
  • Episode 131 (1996)
  • Episode 132 (1996)
  • Episode 148 (1996)

Dark Knight

  • "Stonegod" (2001)

Short stories

  • Gone Fishing in Short Trips: Time Signature
  • Walking Backwards for Christmas in Something Changed
  • The Evacuation of Bernice Summerfield Considered as a Short Film by Terry Gilliam in Missing Adventures
  • The Domestic in the special Waterstones edition of Whispers Under Ground
  • The Home Crowd Advantage in the ‘London Edition’ of Rivers of London

Audio Dramas

Blakes’ 7

  • Rebel (2007)
  • When Vila Met Gan (2008)
  • Eye of the Machine (2008)
  • Blood and Earth (2009)

Doctor Who

  • Earth Aid (with Andrew Cartmel)


Aaronovitch is the son of the late economist and CommunistBarker, Martin (1992). , University Press of Mississippi. ISBN 978-0-87805-594-4 Sam Aaronovitch, and the younger brother of actor Owen Aaronovitch and British journalist David Aaronovitch.

As well as writing the Doctor Who serials Remembrance of the Daleks and Battlefield, he has also written three spin-off novels in the Virgin Publishing New Adventures range, a new Bernice Summerfield novel and several short stories for Big Finish Productions. He created the ongoing Doctor Who character Kadiatu Lethbridge-Stewart, who has only appeared in the television series in an episode of the latest series of the show itself (and reportedly will also appear in the 50th Anniversary special), but has also previously appeared in various spin-offs.

He currently lives in Wimbledon and is working on a series of urban fantasy police procedurals (Rivers of London) which have achieved considerable success.


Doctor Who novelisations

  • Remembrance of the Daleks

Virgin New Adventures (Doctor Who)

  • Transit
  • The Also People
  • So Vile a Sin (with Kate Orman)

Rivers of London

  • Rivers of London (known as Midnight Riot in the US) (2011)
  • Moon Over Soho (2011)
  • Whispers Under Ground (2012)
  • Broken Homes (2013)


  • Genius Loci