Anneli Drecker bigraphy, stories - Singer and actor

Anneli Drecker : biography

February 12, 1969 -

Anneli Marian Drecker (born 12 February 1969 in Tromsø, Norway) is a Norwegian singer and actress from the city of Tromsø. She is the vocalist for the seminal dream pop band Bel Canto. In the fall of 2006 Bel Canto celebrated the twentieth anniversary of the first album with several concerts. She has released two solo albums, and has provided vocals for various artists including Motorpsycho, Jan Bang, Savoy, a-ha, Röyksopp, Jah Wobble, Ketil Bjørnstad, Simon Raymonde, Mental Overdrive, Illumination and Hector Zazou.

Drecker contributed as composer and singer in a production of Pär Lagerkvist's Bøddelen at Det Norske Teatret (2000).

She often works with fellow Norwegians Röyksopp, including as the vocalist on the track "Sparks", as their live vocalist (as heard on their live album Royksopp's Night Out), on three songs on their album Junior. She will perform with Röyksopp on their forthcoming European tour. Additionally, she appeared with countrymen a-ha on their Minor Earth, Major Sky Tour and appeared on the live DVD Live from Vallhall and the following album from their European Tour, How Can I Sleep With Your Voice In My Head.

In a news item in she stated that she had included a song she had originally written for Morten Harket on her album Frolic.

In 2003 she was a jury member in the Norwegian version of Pop Idol. She continues to occasionally perform live in Norway. In 2012 Anneli Drecker takes part in the NRK TV-show Stjernekamp.


Solo albums

  • Tundra (2000)
  • Frolic (2005)


From Frolic:

  • "Stop This" (2005)
  • "You Don't Have To Change" (2005)

From Tundra:

  • "It's All Here" (2000)
  • "Sexy Love" (2000)
  • "All I Know" (2000)


  • Song Of Joy by Tsunematsu Matsui featuring Anneli Marian Drecker (1989)
  • Ghosts Can't Run Away, Diversion, Misunderstanding, Keep Me In, The Same by Foreign Affair featuring Anneli Drecker from the album "East On Fire" (1989)
  • I'll Strangle You by Hector Zazou featuring Anneli Drecker & Gérard Depardieu from the album Sahara Blue (1992)
  • Becoming More Like God, When The Storm Comes by Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart featuring Anneli Drecker from the album Take Me To God (1994)
  • the Golden Core by Motorpsycho from the album Timothy's Monster (1994)
  • Monsoon Baby by Inoran featuring Anneli Drecker from the album Sou (1997)
  • Morning Glory with Simon Raymonde for the tribute to Tim Buckley Sing a Song for You (2000)
  • Grace by Ketil Bjørnstad (Recorded live at Vossajazz, 2000) (text: John Donne, 1562–1626) (Emarcy, 2001)
  • Sparks by Röyksopp from the album Melody A.M. (2001)
  • Turn the Lights Down by a-ha from the album Lifelines (2002)
  • The Nest by Ketil Bjørnstad (featured vocalist on a number of songs) (Emarcy, 2003)
  • Back on Track by Apoptygma Berzerk from the album You and Me Against the World (2005)
  • Vision One, You Don't Have a Clue and True to Life by Röyksopp from the album Junior (2009)


  • Søsken på Guds jord as «Margit» (1983), by Laila Mikkelsen
  • Svarte pantere as «Sonia» (1992), by Thomas Robsahm
  • De 7 dødssyndene (2000), by Ø. Karlsen, M. Olin, M. Sødahl, F. Mosvold & L. Gud
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine