Angélica Aragón bigraphy, stories - Film

Angélica Aragón : biography

July 11, 1953 -

Angélica Aragón (born July 11, 1953) is a Mexican actress of telenovelas and such films as Dune, A Walk in the Clouds, Bella, Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights, Vivir un poco, Mirada de mujer, Novia que te vea, and the blockbuster film Sexo, pudor y lágrimas.



  • Bella as the mother (2006)
  • Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights (2004)
  • Picking Up the Pieces as Dolores (2000)
  • A Walk in the Clouds as María José Aragón (1996)
  • The Harvest as Dr. Emma (1993)
  • Toy Soldiers as Presidenta López (1984)
  • Samson and Delilah as Niji (1984)
  • The Evil That Men Do as María (1984)
  • Dune as Bene Gesserit Sister (1984)

Mexican cinema

  • El quinto mandamiento (2012)
  • Tequila (2011)
  • El Atentado (2010)
  • Recién Cazado (2010)
  • Todos Hemos Pecado (2009)
  • Guadalupe (2006)
  • La mujer de mi hermano (2005)
  • Tres (2005)
  • Zapata: El sueño de un héroe as Waitress #1 (2004)
  • Desnudos (2004)
  • El crimen del padre Amaro as Augustina Sanjuanera (2002)
  • ¿Y si Cristóbal despierta? as Mariana (2000)
  • El grito as Blanca (2000)
  • Crónica de un desayuno as Paloma (1999)
  • Sexo, pudor y lágrimas as Carlos' mother (1999)
  • Entre la tarde y la noche (1999)
  • Fibra óptica as Doña Carmen (1998)
  • Ámbar as Adrianina (1997)
  • De muerte natural (1996)
  • En el aire as Teresa (1995)
  • Cilantro y perejil as Teresa (1995)
  • Sucesos distantes as Irene Gorenko (1994)
  • Novia que te vea as Oshinika's Mother (1993)
  • Gertrudis Bocanegra (1992)
  • Pueblo de madera as a corner shop owner (1990)
  • Goitia, un dios para sí mismo (1988)
  • La furia de un dios (1987)
  • Lamberto Quintero as María de los Ángeles (1987)
  • Sabor a mí" as Ana María (1987)

Political activities

Aragón is an activist, mainly in Mexico but also outside Mexico. She has been working pro women (against sexual abuse, in favor of the obtainment and promotion of better labor and socioeconomic conditions for women). A lot of manifiestos (statements) have been signed by Angélica Aragón, alongside the signatures of many other writers, directors, actors, actresses and, in general, Mexican and foreign intellectuals.

Career (movies and tv)

Back in Mexico, Aragón joined the ranks of Televisa and made several telenovelas in the 1980s and 1990s while she acted in films such as Toy Soldiers with Tim Robbins, The Evil That Men Do with Charles Bronson and the cult film Dune. She played mostly roles of socialite women and also the role of a noble indigenous woman in De frente al sol ("Looking straight at the Sun"). She played the role of the wife of songwriter Álvaro Carrillo in the motion picture Sabor a mí (With the Flavor of Me), alongside José José, "El Príncipe de la Canción", who played the songwriter in the movie. Her telenovelas career includes successful hits as Vanessa (1982), with Lucía Mendez, Chispita (1983), Vivir un poco (1985), Días sin luna (1989), Mas alla del puente (1993) with Katy Jurado and Cañaveral de Pasiones. At the age of 44, after years of not receiving lead roles in Televisa, a company that focuses mainly on younger stars, she obtained a role on the second telenovela of new station TV Azteca titled Mirada de mujer ("A woman's glance") portraying, ironically, an aging woman who is neglected by her husband and finds love in the arms of a younger man. Such bold move paid-off and the telenovela was a big success. She also appeared in the sequel Mirada de mujer: El regreso, as well as the film Sexo, pudor y lágrimas.

Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine