Alister McGrath bigraphy, stories - Critics

Alister McGrath : biography

23 January 1953 -

Alister Edgar McGrath (born 23 January 1953) is a British Irish theologian, priest, intellectual historian and Christian apologist, currently Professor of Theology, Ministry, and Education at Kings College London and Head of the Centre for Theology, Religion and Culture. He was previously Professor of Historical Theology at the University of Oxford, and was principal of Wycliffe Hall, Oxford, until 2005. He has also taught at Cambridge University and is a Teaching Fellow at Regent College. McGrath holds two doctorates from the University of Oxford, a DPhil in Molecular Biophysics and a Doctor of Divinity in Theology. He is an Anglican and is ordained within the Church of England.

McGrath is noted for his work in historical theology, systematic theology, and the relationship between science and religion, as well as his writings on apologetics. He is also known for his opposition to New Atheism and antireligionism and his advocacy of critical realism.[ Wipf and Stock Publishers] Among his best-known books are The Twilight of Atheism, The Dawkins Delusion, Dawkins' God: Genes, Memes, and the Meaning of Life, and A Scientific Theology. He is also the author of a number of popular textbooks on theology.


Among McGrath's more notable works are:

  • A Life of John Calvin (1993) ISBN 0-631-18947-5
  • A Passion for Truth: The Intellectual Coherence of Evangelicalism (1996) ISBN 0-8308-1866-9
  • Science and Religion: An Introduction (1998) ISBN 0-631-20842-9
  • Historical Theology: An Introduction to the History of Christian Thought (1998) ISBN 0-631-20844-5
  • I Believe: Exploring the Apostles' Creed (1998) ISBN 0-8308-1946-0
  • T. F. Torrance: An Intellectual Biography (1999) ISBN 0-567-08683-6
  • The Journey: A Pilgrim in the Lands of the Spirit (2000) ISBN 978-0-385-49588-2
  • Christian Theology: An Introduction (2001) ISBN 0-631-22528-5 (often used as a seminary textbook)
  • The Christian Theology Reader (2001) ISBN 0-631-20637-X (containing primary sources referred to in his Christian Theology)
  • In the Beginning : The Story of the King James Bible and How It Changed a Nation, a Language,and a Culture (2001) ISBN 0-385-72216-8
  • Glimpsing the Face of God: The Search for Meaning in the Universe (2001) ISBN 0-8028-3980-0
  • The Reenchantment of Nature: The Denial of Religion and the Ecological Crisis (2002) ISBN 978-0-385-50059-3
  • Knowing Christ (2002) ISBN 0-385-50316-4
  • A Scientific Theology v. 3 (2003) ISBN 0-567-08349-7
  • A Brief History of Heaven (2003) ISBN 0-631-23354-7
  • The Intellectual Origins of the European Reformation (2003) ISBN 0-631-229-396
  • The Twilight of Atheism: The Rise and Fall of Disbelief in the Modern World (2004) ISBN 0-385-50061-0
  • Dawkins' God: Genes, Memes, and the Meaning of Life (2005) ISBN 1-4051-2538-1 (A critique of scientist Richard Dawkins' attitude towards religion)
  • Christianity’s Dangerous Idea: The Protestant Revolution from the Sixteenth to the Twenty-First Century (2007) ISBN 978-0-06-082213-2
  • The Dawkins Delusion? (2007) ISBN 0-281-05927-6 (A critical response to Dawkins' book The God Delusion)
  • The Open Secret: A New Vision for Natural Theology (2008) ISBN 978-1-4051-2691-5
  • A Fine-Tuned Universe: The Quest for God in Science and Theology (2009) ISBN 0-664-23310-4
  • Heresy: A History of Defending the Truth (2009) ISBN 978-0-06-082214-9
  • Mere Theology: Christian Faith and the Discipleship of the Mind (2010) ISBN 0-281-06209-9
  • Chosen Ones (Series: The Aedyn Chronicles Volume: 1) (2010) ISBN 0-310-71812-0
  • Surprised by Meaning: Science, Faith, and How We Make Sense of Things (2011) ISBM 0-664-236-928
  • Why God Won't Go Away: Engaging with the New Atheism (2011) ISBN 0-281-063-877
  • Flight of the Outcasts (Series: The Aedyn Chronicles Volume: 2) (2011) ISBN 0-310-71813-9
  • Darkness Shall Fall (Series: The Aedyn Chronicles Volume: 3) (2011) ISBN ISBN 978-0-310-71814-7
  • Reformation Thought: An Introduction (2012) ISBN 0-470-672-811
  • The Intellectual World of C. S. Lewis (2013) ISBN 978-0470672792
  • C. S. Lewis- A Life: Eccentric Genius, Reluctant Prophet (2013)
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine