Alexander Rosenbaum

Alexander Rosenbaum bigraphy, stories - Religion

Alexander Rosenbaum : biography

13 September 1951 –

Alexander Yakovlevich Rosenbaum PAR ( Aleksandr Jakovlevič Rozyenbaum) (born September 13, 1951 in Leningrad, Soviet Union) is a Soviet and Russian bard from Saint Petersburg. He is best known as an interpreter of the blatnaya pesnya (criminal song) genre. Modern singers in this genre, such as Mikhail Shufutinsky often sing Rosenbaum’s songs.

Rosenbaum graduated from the Pavlov Medical School in 1974, and worked in the medical field for four years. His musical education consists of piano and choreography courses at a musical school. In 1968, while still a student, Rosenbaum started writing the songs for which he is famous. His early songs were for student plays, but he soon also wrote for rock groups and started performing as a singer-songwriter in 1983, sometimes under the pseudonym "Ayarov".

Among his most famous songs are the ones about Leningrad, the Soviet-Afghan War, Cossacks, and the Jewish Mafia in Odessa. Songs such as "Gop-Stop" (a comedy about two gangsters executing an unfaithful lover) and "Vals-boston" (The Boston Waltz) are popular across Russian social groups and generations.

Rosenbaum accompanies himself on either a six- or twelve-string acoustic guitar, using the Open G tuning adopted from the Russian seven string guitar.

His attitude toward the criminal song genre can best be illustrated by his own words:


On 16 May 2001, by president Putin’s decree, Rosenbaum was awarded the title of People’s Artist of Russia, probably the highest title in the artistic field of activity in Russia.


Political career

On December 7, 2003 Alexander Rosenbaum took office as a member of the Russian parliament (the fourth Duma) for Yedinaya Rossiya and deputy chairman of the State Duma Culture Committee. When asked by a journalist about what he had to sacrifice to be able to run for MP, Rosenbaum answered:

He was not listed as an MP in the fifth Duma.

He is also a supporter of Yisrael Beiteinu Israeli political party and sang the theme tune for the party in the Israeli legislative election, 2009.


Rosenbaum is co-owner of a growing (as of 2007) network of beer-halls in Saint-Petersburg, called "Tolstiy Frayer". The name has a humorous, as well as gangster slang air to it and can roughly be rendered as "Non-Criminal Fat Chap".


  • Pamyati A. Zvezdina-Severnogo (In memory of A. Zvezdin-Severny; April 1982)
  • Noviye pesni (New Songs; November 1983)
  • Epitafiya (Epitaph; 1986)
  • Moi dvory (My Courtyards;1986)
  • Narisuyte mne dom (Paint Me a House; 1986)
  • Doroga dlinoyu v zhizn (The Life-long Road; 1988)
  • Kazachyi pesni (Cossack Songs; 1988)
  • Anafema (Anathema; 1988)
  • Nyu-Yorkskiy kontsert (A New-York Concert; 1987)
  • Gop-stop (Gop-stop;1993)
  • Goryachaya Desyatka (Hot Ten; 1994)
  • A. Rozenbaum i “Bratya Zhemchuzhniye” 11 let spustya (A. Rosenbaum and the “Zhemchuzhnye Brothers”, 11 years after; 1994)
  • Veshchaya sudba (Prophetic Fate; 1994, compilation)
  • Nostalgiya (Nostalgia; 1994)
  • Vyalotekushchaya Shizofreniya (Sluggishly progressing schizophrenia; December 1994)
  • Byloye i diski (The Past and the Disks; volumes 1, 2 and 3)
  • Antologiya 1. Domashniy kontsert (Anthology 1. A Home Concert; 1981)
  • Antologiya 2. Posvyashcheniye posvyashchayushchim (Anthology 2. Devoted to the Devoters; 1983)
  • Antologiya 3. Kontsert v Vorkute. (Anthology 3. A Concert in Vorkuta; 1984)
  • Antologiya 4. Kontsert na LOMO (Anthology 4. A Concert at LOMO; 1987)
  • Rozoviy zhemchug (Pink Pearls; August–November 1995)
  • Na plantatsiyah lyubvi (On Plantations of Love; March–May 1996)
  • Kontsert v den rozhdeniya (A Birthday Concert; September 1996)
  • Vozvrashcheniye na Argo (The Return to Argo; February 1997)
  • Iyulskaya zhara (July Heat; November 1997)
  • Luchshiye pesni (The Best Of; 1982–1997, compilation)
  • Transsibirskaya magistral (Trans-Siberian Railway 1999)
  • Odinokiy volk (Lonesome Wolf; 2001, compilation)
  • Nastoyashchiy soldat (Real Soldier; April 2000)
  • Staraya gitara (Old Guitar; 2001)
  • Ya lyublyu vozvrashchatsya v svoy gorod… (I Love Coming Back to My Town…; 2003)
  • Strannaya zhizn (Strange Life; 2003)
  • Ya vizhu svet (I See the Light; December 2005)
  • Poputchiki (Fellow travellers; October 2007)
  • Mechta blatnogo poeta (The Dream of an Underworld Poet November 2009)
  • Rubashka narasoashku (The Dream of an Underworld Poet November 2010)
  • Berega chistogo bratstva (The Dream of an Underworld Poet December 2011)