Aaron Allston

Aaron Allston bigraphy, stories - American writer

Aaron Allston : biography

1960 –

Aaron Allston (born 1960 in Corsicana, Texas) is an American game designer and novelist of many science fiction books, notably Star Wars novels. His works as a game designer include game supplements for role-playing games, several of which served to establish the basis for products and subsequent development of TSR’s Dungeons & Dragons game setting Mystara. Later works as a novelist include those of the X-Wing series: Wraith Squadron, Iron Fist, Solo Command, Starfighters of Adumar. He has also written two entries in the New Jedi Order series: Enemy Lines I: Rebel Dream, and Enemy Lines II: Rebel Stand. Allston wrote three of the nine Legacy of the Force novels: Betrayal, Exile, and Fury, and three of the nine Fate of the Jedi novels: Outcast, Backlash and Conviction.

Selected bibliography

Non tie-in

  • Web of Danger (1988)
  • Galatea In 2-D (1993)
  • Double Jeopardy (1994)
  • Thunder of the Captains (with H. Lisle) (1996)
  • Wrath of the Princes (with H. Lisle) (1997)

====Doc Sidhe====

  • Doc Sidhe (1995)
  • Sidhe-Devil (2001)

Star Wars


  • Wraith Squadron (1998)
  • Iron Fist (1998)
  • Solo Command (1999)
  • Starfighters of Adumar (1999)
  • Mercy Kill (2012)

The New Jedi Order

  • Enemy Lines I: Rebel Dream (2002)
  • Enemy Lines II: Rebel Stand (2002)

Legacy of the Force

  • Betrayal (2006)
  • Exile (2007)
  • Fury (2007)

Fate of the Jedi

  • Outcast (2009)
  • Backlash (2010)
  • Conviction (2011)


  • Terminator 3 Terminator Dreams (2003)
  • Terminator Hunt (2004)

Role-playing games

  • The Circle and M.E.T.E. (1983)
  • Mythic Greece (Rolemaster) (1988)
  • Strike Force (1988)
  • Dungeons & Dragons Rules Cyclopedia (1991)
  • Poor Wizard’s Almanac & Book of Facts (1992)
  • Wrath of the Immortals (1992)
  • Complete Ninja’s Handbook (1995)
  • Champions, Fifth Edition (2002)


Allston moved all over Texas in his youth and graduated from high school in Denton. Allston moved to Austin in 1979 and attended the University of Texas. He was a circulation manager, assistant editor, and editor of Space Gamer magazine and by 1983 was a full time freelance game designer. He served as editor of Space Gamer from issues 52 (June 1982) – 65 (Sept/Oct 1983), and as editor of Fantasy Gamer for the first issue (Aug/Sep 1983) and co-editor of the second issue (Dec/Jan 1984). He branched into writing and by the mid-1990s had two novels under his belt.

He began writing on the Star Wars X-Wing series in 1997, when the primary sequence writer Michael Stackpole could not handle the entire workload. Stackpole had worked with Allston in the gaming industry years earlier. In 2006, Allston launched the The Legacy of the Force series with a hardcover entitled Betrayal.

In 2005, Allston made his directorial debut on the independent film Deadbacks, which he also wrote and produced. The project is in post production.

In early April 2009 Allston had a heart attack and underwent an emergency quadruple bypass surgery while on the book signing tour for Outcast, the first book in the Fate of the Jedi series.

Allston lives in Round Rock, Texas. For a short time, he worked for the Austin American-Statesman newspaper.