A. C. Grayling bigraphy, stories - English philosopher

A. C. Grayling : biography

3 April 1949 -

Anthony Clifford Grayling (born 3 April 1949) is an English philosopher. In 2011 he founded and became the first Master of New College of the Humanities, an independent undergraduate college in London. Until June 2011, he was Professor of Philosophy at Birkbeck, University of London, where he taught from 1991. He is also a supernumerary fellow of St Anne's College, Oxford.

Grayling is the author of about 30 books on philosophy, including The Refutation of Scepticism (1985), The Future of Moral Values (1997), The Meaning of Things (2001), The Good Book (2011), and The God Argument (2013). He is a Trustee of the London Library, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts., acgrayling.com, accessed 10 June 2011.

He is a director/contributor at Prospect Magazine. His main academic interests lie in epistemology, metaphysics, and philosophical logic. He has described himself as "a man of the left" and is associated in Britain with the new atheism movement.Catto, Rebecca and Eccles, Jane. , The Guardian, 14 April 2011


  • An Introduction to Philosophical Logic (1982). ISBN 0-389-20299-1
  • The Refutation of Scepticism (1985). ISBN 0-7156-1922-5
  • Berkeley: The Central Arguments (1986). ISBN 0-7156-2065-7
  • Wittgenstein (1988). ISBN 0-19-287676-7
  • with Susan Whitfield. China: A Literary Companion (1994). ISBN 0-7195-5353-9
  • (ed). Philosophy: A Guide Through the Subject (1995). ISBN 0-19-875156-7
  • Russell (1996). ISBN 0-19-287683-X
  • The Future of Moral Values (1997), ISBN 0-297-81973-9
  • Philosophy 2: Further Through the Subject (1998). ISBN 0-19-875179-6, ed.
  • The Quarrel of the Age: The Life and Times of William Hazlitt (2000). ISBN 0-297-64322-3
  • The Meaning of Things: Applying Philosophy to Life (2001). ISBN 0-297-60758-8
  • published in the U.S. as Meditations for the Humanist: Ethics for a Secular Age.
  • The Reason of Things: Living with Philosophy (2002). ISBN 0-297-82935-1
  • published in the U.S. as Life, Sex, and Ideas: The Good Life Without God.
  • What Is Good?: The Search for the Best Way to Live (2003). ISBN 0-297-84132-7
  • The Mystery of Things (2004). ISBN 0-297-64559-5
  • The Art of Always Being Right (2004). ISBN 1-903933-61-7 [Edited T. Bailey Saunders' translation of Schopenhauer's essay The Art of Being Right]
  • Descartes: The Life of René Descartes and Its Place in His Times (2005). ISBN 0-7432-3147-3
  • The Heart of Things: Applying Philosophy to the 21st Century (2005). ISBN 0-297-84819-4
  • The Form of Things: Essays on Life, Ideas and Liberty in the 21st Century (2006). ISBN 0-297-85167-5
  • with Andrew Pyle and Naomi Goulder (eds). The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy (2006), ISBN 1-84371-141-9
  • Among the Dead Cities: Was the Allied Bombing of Civilians in WWII a Necessity or a Crime? (2006). ISBN 0-7475-7671-8
  • with Mick Gordon. On Religion (2007).
  • Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (2007). ISBN 978-1-84002-728-0
  • Truth, Meaning and Realism: Essays in the Philosophy of Thought (2007). ISBN 978-0-8264-9748-2
  • Towards The Light (2007). ISBN 978-0-8027-1636-1
    • published in the U.S. as Towards the Light of Liberty.
  • The Choice of Hercules (2007).
  • Scepticism and the Possibility of Knowledge (2008).
  • Ideas That Matter: A Personal Guide for the 21st Century (2009). ISBN 978-0-297-85676-4
  • Liberty in the Age of Terror : A Defence of Civil Society and Enlightenment Values (2009).
  • To Set Prometheus Free: Essays on Religion, Reason and Humanity (2009). ISBN 978-1-84002-962-8
  • Thinking of Answers: Questions in the Philosophy of Everyday Life (2010). ISBN 978-1-4088-0598-5
  • The Good Book (2011). ISBN 978-0-8027-1737-5
  • The God Argument (2013). ISBN 978-1620401903
Living octopus

Living octopus

In countries which are located near sea coasts, sea food is an important part of national cuisine